Money money money MONEY

Hi guys.

First of all, I feel I need to address my last post, re: what I wrote about the distribution of household chores in our household.  Here is a reconstructed conversation Ryan and I had earlier this week:

RYAN
WTF is up with your blog.

KATIE
Heh?

RYAN
I mean, what are you even trying to say.

KATIE
Wha?

RYAN
Are you mad at me?  IS THAT WHAT THIS IS.

KATIE
.

RYAN
You think I only do 38% of the housework around here.  And you told everybody.

KATIE
Ooooooh.  Oh!  Well, I mean…I didn’t mean it to be accusatory?

RYAN
.

KATIE
I was just making a crack about Women’s Day, and stuff!

RYAN
.

KATIE
I’m not trying to say you don’t pull your weight.

RYAN
Whatever.

KATIE
I mean, there are other things besides cooking and cleaning!  You contribute things to this marriage.  Other things.

RYAN
Name one of these things.

KATIE
…Financial…

RYAN
.

KATIE
…literacy?

RYAN
Hhmph.

KATIE
I’m sorry.  I shall print a retraction!

RYAN
NO DON’T THAT MAKES IT EVEN WORSE

So, there you have it!  I take it all back.  Ryan is a very competent househusband.  Also, I had totally forgotten how he always empties out the bathroom trashcan, the one full of poopy toilet paper, which is almost definitely the worst chore around here.  And finally I just think it’s kind of interesting, the things people choose to specialize in when they cohabitate.  How did I decide to be the cook?  How did he decide to be the tax payer?  Neither of us knew how to do these things when we got married, and yet, here we are.  Obviously gender roles have a lot to do with it, but, whatever, another post for another time.

I bring all this up because a) I like to embarrass Ryan when he has the nerve to question the things I write about him on my personal web log, and b) I actually do want to talk about finances.  Hooray!  For while Ryan is in charge of the big stuff —  doing taxes, moving money into our IRAs, shaking his head scornfully when I waste money on random doodads — I’m the one who, maybe once a year or so, sits down and categorizes every single thing we spend our money on.  Then I try to analyze everything, and then Ryan is like “Why are you doing this with a pencil, please just do it in Excel” and then I wail “But I don’t know how to UUUUUUSE EXCEEEEEL” and then he gets sucked into helping me complete my hours-long project, just like I had planned in the first place.

The point is, for three weeks in February, I fanatically wrote down every single purchase we made.  Today, I tried to organize this data.  I spent way, way too long moving things around and categorizing and re-categorizing and making charts and whatnot, so frankly, if this is not interesting to you, I don’t give a poop.  I spent time on this today and YOU WILL READ ABOUT HOW WE USE YOUR TAX DOLLARS DAMN IT.

Enjoy!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Money money money MONEY

  1. This web log post sort of made me cry from laughing/missing you.

  2. marissaklein

    Your visuals in this post are fabulous. And please, we (China in general, which is coded for me in specific) are much worse volunteers. You should see my cabinet of hoarded luxury foodstuffs.

  3. Daniel Cherry

    Hey. I am an M22 and I have been blog-stalking everyone for a while now. If I could, I would give this post a Pulitzer. WELL DONE.

  4. Jessie

    AMAZING. I echo Cecily’s sentiments.

  5. Sweet Jonny B

    There really just aren’t words for how tremendous this is. That last picture alone. Jesus.

  6. Ashley

    We have an Excel spreadsheet in which we itemize what we spend every single day. And have for the last two years. So now we can be ultra-obsessive about where our money goes, what ridiculous things we waste it on, how paltry little we give to charity as a percentage of our entire spending (and that’s not considering it in terms of our actual income), and how much more panic-inducingly expensive life in a real city such as Sydney is compared to life in a wannabe city such as Winnipeg. This has, of course, become even more fun now that Steve is unemployed.

    PS. We also have a high-beer-spending-to-total-spending ratio.

  7. God, the beer chart. I want it on a T-shirt. I want to include it in every PowerPoint presentation I’m ever forced to make. I want a print of it for my wall.

    Fuck it, I’m printing it out now and putting it up in my cubicle. It’s glorious.

  8. This is hilarious! Yes, I’m at ‘work’ and yes I go out to sites today and should be getting my session ready, but your blog was just too damn entertaining.

Leave a Reply

