The parents take Mongolia, part III: Let’s wrap this up, shall we

Hi.  I need to finish blogging about my parents’ dang visit so I can start blogging about other, more pressing matters, such as snow, and how it is doing that outside right now.

Speaking of the weather,*

* (LOOK AT IT, LOOK AT IT NOW)

I would like to introduce you to a couple of Real Mongolian Dudes who, during our trip, with steely resolve and quiet manfulness, shepherded us through some poopy atmospheric conditions and/or wrangled semi-wild horses and Russian Jeeps for us.

Here we have Bataa, the manager of our camp in Kharkhorin, after the Fearsome Hailstorm blew through and leveled some of his gers:

Mostly I just liked the conversation we had in the lead-up to this picture:

ME
Okay, my family is leaving now!  Can I take your picture?

HIM
My picture?

ME
Yes!  Right there is nice.

HIM
I’m not ugly?

ME
You are beautiful.

HIM
(snorts)

And here is Sanja: Driver, Mustache Sporter, Baller.  He delivered us to Tsetserleg through miles and miles of muck and slop, and we only had to get out and push a couple of times.

(Also, my favorite photo of the trip was taken during this ride.  Please enjoy Mom and Dad in the microbus, playing it cool while Sanja fishtails his way through the muddy, rutted countryside:)

Our next Dude is Shijeree, one of our horseback riding guides.  As you can see, he is a very cool cat, and the camera loves him:

(I may have taken too many pictures of old Shijeree; his brother is off to the left of the frame in this next one, heckling him in a high-pitched lady-voice, saying “Ooo Shijeree, please smile for the camera”)

Our other guide was Baagii, a yak herder so dazzling that rainbows sprang forth from the earth where’er he went:

Finally, there was the guy who drove us from Tsetserleg to Erdenet.

I didn’t catch his name, but he deserves a mention because he:

  • was nice enough to stop at his brother’s ger and invite us in for mare’s milk and moonshine,
  • humored us when Mom and I shrieked “CAMELS!  OH CAMELS STOP PLEASE WE WANT TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THE CAMELS”
  • pointed out two gers in the middle of nowhere and told us that the parents of Mongolia’s first Olympic gold medalist (men’s judo) lived there, and
  • drove for 11 straight hours through the countryside.

I am aware that I’m really just copying and pasting months-old Flickr photos into my blog, here.  And I apologize.

Still and all, that brings us to the end of the Family Visit Summary, and I sure do hope you enjoyed it.  And remember folks, if you desire to visit Mongolia with a couple of free, crap translators at your disposal, time is running out!  Oo wee is it ever!  I keep toggling back and forth between Slightly Weary Volunteer Katie (oh, look…school’s starting again) and Frantic, Pre-Nostalgic Volunteer Katie (less than a year left here! From now on I shall savor and love everything).

So, yeah.  Look at that summer.  Pretty, pretty Mongolian summer.  Did I appreciate it enough when it was here?

Well I guess I’ll go put on some long johns under my sweatpants, now.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The parents take Mongolia, part III: Let’s wrap this up, shall we

  1. Are you starting to get “So, what are you going to do after Mongolia?” type questions? Ohh, I hope not. Steve and I are under the constant, “But what if we can’t renew our visa come March 15, 2012?” threat, which makes things like buying furniture very complicated. Why would we buy furniture if we are leaving in less than seven months? And what would we do with ourselves if we were forced to leave? We have decided that this thought is so unbearable we will not even address it.

    That photo of your parents is priceless.

Leave a Reply

